Mary
Mary Corwin

By AGAPE Staff

We recently sat down with one of AGAPE’s longest-tenured employees, Mary Corwin. She works as a foster care and adoption case manager – having touched the lives of countless children and families over the past 20 years. You can learn more about her in the Q&A below:

When did you join AGAPE?

I joined AGAPE in January of 1998 as an intern and was hired full-time that May. I worked in a satellite office in Lawrenceburg as the case manager and then moved to our main office in 2001 as a special needs case manager through a contract with DCS.

What’s your favorite part of the job?

My favorite part of my job is two-fold – seeing families reunited through foster care and seeing families formed through adoption.

What motivates you?

Professionally, I’m motivated by working with families. I want to help them – especially single moms – become the parents they want to be and the parents their children deserve. I’m also motivated by the personal understanding I have of being a single mom to a former foster child.

What have you learned since joining AGAPE?

When I started here, I was right out of college, single and had no kids. I became a foster parent in late 2002 and quickly learned about the struggles of other foster parents. I’ve also learned that no two days here are the same. You may have a schedule for the day, but unexpected things are sure to pop up and you have to be able to multitask.

Do you have a favorite memory from working at AGAPE?

Delmiccia
Mary's daughter, Delmiccia

I’ve always loved going to adoption ceremonies, but my own adoption story is by far my favorite. I adopted my daughter, Delmiccia, on Oct. 12, 2007 – exactly two years and nine months after I took her in as a foster child. I was originally told she’d only be with me for two weeks, but fortunately, these have been the longest two weeks of my life and now I’m her forever family.

What do you like to do for fun?

I like spending time with Delmiccia. This is my 10th year as her girl scout troop leader, so I’m always taking her to camp and different activities. We also like to travel.

Tell us a little about your family:

I grew up in Maumee, OH – a suburb of Toledo. I moved to Nashville in 1995 to attend Lipscomb University, and I’m mom to Delmiccia.

Jul 09, 2018